Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

BF Samsonite

Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

BF Samsonite

Old 03-01-18, 12:30 AM
  #1  
gdlerner
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ludwigshafen
Posts: 474

Bikes: Pocket Llama

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BF Samsonite

Hi
Is this suitcase now what BF use? Because on BF web say 29,5" I search and there only 31"
Thank you

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005SLEDAE/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1519885577&sr=8-2&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=samsonite+f%27lite+gt+31"+spinner&dpPl=1&dpID=41rcEQEhdaL&r ef=plSrch
The
gdlerner is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Pinigis 
Senior Member
 
Pinigis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Henrico, VA
Posts: 1,009

Bikes: Origami Gazelle, Origami Crane 8, Origami Cricket 7

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked 19 Times in 14 Posts
From the BF website: "Samsonite does not measure the wheels or handles in their measurements.The case dimensions are 29.5" tall x 20" wide x 12" deep. This adds up to 61.5 linear inches, which falls just under the 62 linear inches used by most airlines as their cut-off limit for suitcase dimensions. The suitcase weighs 11.65 lbs. + "

The only problem that I see here is that the airlines DO measure the wheels and handles when determining the size of checked luggage (I contacted numerous airlines to confirm this), so the case is actually 31" (as shown on the Samsonite web site, they don't refer to it as 30") and the case is identified as:
Body Dimensions: 31.0" x 21.0" x 12.0"
Overall Dimensions: 32.67" x 23.48" x 13.77"

So, best case, its 65" linear inches, worst case 69.92". You may never actually get caught and have to pay the fee, but it is a risk.
__________________
Paul Pinigis
Owner of Origami Bicycle Company
Pinigis is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 11:42 AM
  #3  
fietsbob 
coprolite
 
fietsbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 42,800

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7388 Post(s)
Liked 1,002 Times in 631 Posts
I left mine at the bike shop , where I get parcels left, rather than street side, on my porch.. I can measure it later...

My Friend frugal to a fault , gets softsided luggage at charity shops , then he can abandon them after taking his Bike Friday, Out.
fietsbob is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 12:10 PM
  #4  
bargainguy
Senior Member
 
bargainguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Trekland
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked 64 Times in 42 Posts
I have one of the technically oversize F'lite suitcases, but I have yet to be charged for oversize from the airlines.

It's easy and quick for the airline agent to plop your loaded suitcase on the scale. I've had this done every time I've flown with the F'lite and my Bike Friday. So I make sure the total weight doesn't exceed the 50 lb. international weight limit. If it does, you can bet that the agent will whip out the tape measure and check for oversize as well as overweight. I've never had the agent check for oversize if the case doesn't exceed the 50 lb. weight limit, tho, because it's close enough to the 62" total dimension to not look obviously oversize.

If the airline counter is crowded, the agents are much less likely to check for oversize as long as the case doesn't exceed the 50 lb. weight limit. There have been times I've gotten to the airport early and actually waited for the airline counter to get crowded before I approach.
bargainguy is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 12:31 PM
  #5  
gdlerner
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ludwigshafen
Posts: 474

Bikes: Pocket Llama

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Guys I just want to know if this one in amazon link is the same suitcase BF sell,I already got a suitcase and I want to replace it
Thank you
gdlerner is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 01:55 PM
  #6  
fietsbob 
coprolite
 
fietsbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 42,800

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7388 Post(s)
Liked 1,002 Times in 631 Posts
order it take a risk.. send it back if it baint adequate..

Amazon will not answer your question? no one on here works there,

and bezos just wants the profits , from all the minimum wage order fulfillers just running their little butts off..
fietsbob is offline  
Old 03-01-18, 03:49 PM
  #7  
rhenning
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,450
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 44 Times in 31 Posts
GDLerner over time BF has changed the suitcase model they use. BF has an 800 number call them or E-mail them and ask what model case they are using right now. They should know. My wife and I have 2 BFs and both cases are different and both are Samsonites. My Pocket Rocket is is older than her Pocket Crusoe. Roger
rhenning is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
spacemaniss
Tandem Cycling
4
04-20-20 11:41 AM
kayakindude
Folding Bikes
15
07-20-19 08:55 AM
cyclezealot
General Cycling Discussion
5
04-03-13 10:53 AM
staehpj1
Touring
10
04-01-10 02:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.