Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

How to put together or what to do with wheel components?

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-10, 11:22 PM
DT503

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have a killo tt and am slowly upgrading the stock components. I have gathered a velocity deep v back rim, dt spokes, and a formula hub. Right now the stock wheel set is on. I don't know how to put this wheel together myself, can i take these parts into a shop? or where can i find the information to do it myself? i replaces the crank and of course the pedals very easily so i'm not a total newb.

thanks!
Old 11-29-10, 11:35 PM
Squirrelli
GONE~

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sheldon has got an elaborate article on wheelbuilding.

You could learn to put it together but it will be kind of hard to finish it up without a truing stand or you could give it to a shop to build it up. ~$50 and up depending on the shop.

I would suggest you to go build it up yourself, wheelbuilding could be a fun experience.
Old 11-29-10, 11:38 PM
silver_ghost

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Sounds like you're in way over your head. Do you have any idea if the spokes you have are the correct size? Start here: https://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheels/index.html. Wheel building isn't rocket surgery, but it's a lot more complicated than replacing pedals and cranks.

Also, prepare for merciless ribbing from the bike forums mob.
Old 11-29-10, 11:47 PM
xkillemallx16

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts