Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Rear Shimano derailleur replacement on Mongoose Spire

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-17, 02:41 PM
c4p

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi all

I'm somewhat new to bike repairs. I can change a flat tire and a few small things here and there but have been trying to gain more knowledge about bikes in general, seeing as I'm a bike courier, so I can fix issues when they come up instead of going to the bike shop. I put a ton of daily wear and tear on my bike so it's a good investment for me to learn.

Anyway, I have a Mongoose spire. Not the greatest bike but good enough for what I need it to do. The other night on my way home, I was shifting gears and my rear Shimano derailleur fell off after part of the plastic(?) piece that houses the spring chipped off. It's been snowing / raining a lot here and very cold (11-21°) and even though I store the bike indoors, I have been riding several miles (11-20) a day in some pretty crazy whether conditions. I'm guessing that may have something to do with it as I haven't been properly cleaning/lubing the chain, etc. I also suspect the insane amount of rock salt being put down all over the city streets lately could have contributed in some way.

I'm now looking to replace my first derailleur. The bike shop wanted $50-60, possibly more, so I'm wanting to do it myself. I know I'll have to get a bike chain tool but my question is about the derailleur itself. I'm having an issue understanding exactly which kind to get. My Mongoose Spire is an 18 speed. The total noob question here is, do I need to get an 18 speed rear derailleur?