Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

New to road cycling, experiencing a lot of pain.

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-10, 06:54 PM
Blackdays
Boom.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

What's up guys, this is my first time posting here, and it is regarding a serious problem I'm having with "my" road bike.

Now, let me clarify why I put quotes around the my. The bike is actually my brothers, who is considerably taller than I am. I'm not sure exactly by how much, but I'd garner to say a few inches. I'm 5'6'', and weigh about 130.

Recently, my brother decided that he was going to move to mountain biking exclusively, and lent me the road bike. I instantly fell in love with it, and began to ride every single day for 3, or more hours at a time. I'm not in amazing shape, so I'd cover only about 50 or so miles during each run.

However, the bike is putting my body through hell. 5 or so minutes into every ride, my neck begins to hurt, my shoulders begin to ache, and my back starts to betray me. In fact, I never actually stop riding because I get tired, I stop because the pain gets unbearable (especially in my neck. Furthermore, I spend most of my time on the bars, as grasping even the hoods require me to stretch my entire body out (and lock my arms).