Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

XC to DH

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-16, 04:27 PM
LoriRose

Bikes: '90 Bianchi Grizzly, '91 Look mi70, '99 RM Hammer Race

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
XC to DH

Hey guys and gals,

I've an older XC 1999 Rocky Mountain Hammer Race - BikePedia with slicks that I was using as a commuter, and now I would like put some knobbies on it and swap out some parts to use it for its intended purpose and to make it a little more DH friendly.

Now keep in mind, I am a beginner and will not be doing anything too crazy on the bike. I know I need wider bars and a shorter stem, but this is all I'm sure of. The bar that came with the bike when I bought it used is 21" - I'm pretty sure someone cut it down. I've swapped in a 24" riser bar that I had on hand. It's only temporary though as it's the wrong colour. The stem is 90mm with a 25 degree angle.

How much wider do I go with the bars? I'm thinking pretty wide and then cut down if necessary.
What stem length would be best? Aim for the middle and go for 50mm?

What else should I be considering/replacing?

Tire recommendations?

Btw, I'm 5'8".

Thanks!
Old 02-01-16, 04:43 PM
FrozenK

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
If by DH friendly you mean lift assisted terrain I'd recommend replacing the entire bike.
Old 02-01-16, 04:52 PM
LoriRose

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by FrozenK
If by DH friendly you mean lift assisted terrain I'd recommend replacing the entire bike.
Nope, just a few local DH trails. Like I said, nothing crazy. I'm just looking to make a few modifications to the bike, not buy a new one.
Old 02-01-16, 05:00 PM
FrozenK

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by LoriRose