Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Lithium-ion batteries?

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Lithium-ion batteries?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-23, 07:26 PM
dayco

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Lithium-ion batteries?

I'm new to e-bikes and their technology. There's been another lithium-ion battery fire...

https://abc7ny.com/brooklyn-fire-lit...ghts/14053185/

What are people doing wrong charging, using or storing these batteries? Is there a basic safety issue regarding these batteries? How do you recommend properly handling these batteries safely? Does your experience with these batteries differ from general knowledge or instruction? Do you personally charge or store these batteries within your home? Outside?

I'm going to be constructing a homemade e-bike around one of these batteries. My only experience with lithium-ion batteries is with small devices. The dangers associated with one of these larger batteries is becoming a concern.
Old 11-17-23, 08:40 PM
Bald Paul

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked 1,659 Times in 784 Posts
Safety Tips for Charging Li-ion Batteries (storemasta.com.au)
Old 11-18-23, 01:11 AM
Doc_Wui

Bikes: GT Transeo & a half dozen ebike conversions.

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked 275 Times in 192 Posts
I hope the NYC law requiring UL listed batteries on new ebikes/scooters helps. I believe that a lot of the NYC battery fires come from people who are using batteries that have been rebuilt with ill-advised practices.

There are too many youtube videos that are flat unsafe, showing people how to revive dead batteries that were shut off by the battery management system (BMS). Also crazy youtubers showing how they revive dead cells or how to reset cells that overheated and popped off their internal breakers.