Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Backpack design for commuters

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-11, 09:19 AM
sparkybob

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello fellow commuters,

I am a design student from Sheffield, England and I am wanting to design a backpack specifically for commuting cyclists. I am doing some research into what people actually want from a commuting backpack and what features are most important to them. Therefore, If you have a minute and wouldn't mind sharing your backpack experiences, have a look at the questions below...

Do you use a backpack on your commute at the moment? why?

If yes, which backpack do you use?

Do you carry a laptop in your backpack? If yes, do you find that this hinders the performance of you backpack?

Do you carry clothes and/or shoes in your backpack? if yes, how often do you do this, i.e once a week/every day

Do you carry things to get washed/showered once you arrive at your destination?

Do you take lunch with you? If yes, do you take this in a separate 'lunchbox' or do you just use a compartment in the backpack?

Does your backpack have a feature that improves back ventilation? if yes, how effective do you find it?

What are the key features you would look for in a commuting backpack?

Have you ever had a really bad or really good experience with a commuting backpack? If yes, why was it so good/bad?

If you have other points that you think may be worth considering, please feel free to expand below...

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences.

sparkybob
Old 10-16-11, 09:46 AM
curbtender