Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

First Bike need some pointers

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-19, 05:54 AM
Armyguy1914

Bikes: Trek Dual Sport 3, Trek Emonda 5 Full carbon road bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

Good morning everyone.
I am a novice when it comes to mid to high end bikes. I went to my LBS and found that they carry Giant. There were the Roam 2 and the Roam 3. Difference in the two was Roam 2 had hydraulic brakes and 3 x 9 as the Roam 3 had mechanical brakes and 3 x 8. Well I'm getting my self use to these new terms. Roam 2 was $645 and Roam 3 was $510 . There is also a Trek shop in my area as well. I wanted a Hybrid because i wanted to do trail and road. How do I get my use to the drive train, brakes to tell what is good and what is junk???
Old 04-02-19, 08:10 AM
finch204

Bikes: 2013 Trek 4.7 Flatbar Madone, 2018 Giant Roam 2

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Armyguy1914
Good morning everyone.
I am a novice when it comes to mid to high end bikes. I went to my LBS and found that they carry Giant. There were the Roam 2 and the Roam 3. Difference in the two was Roam 2 had hydraulic brakes and 3 x 9 as the Roam 3 had mechanical brakes and 3 x 8. Well I'm getting my self use to these new terms. Roam 2 was $645 and Roam 3 was $510 . There is also a Trek shop in my area as well. I wanted a Hybrid because i wanted to do trail and road. How do I get my use to the drive train, brakes to tell what is good and what is junk???