Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Looking for 27" rear wheel for Schwinn Suburban

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-24, 03:17 PM
Agent_Smith

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am just getting into restoring this Schwinn Suburban (early 70's?). Overall the bike is in good/great shape except that the rear wheel is bent beyond repair. An initial inspection shows the gear cluster (5-speed) is stamped Shimano and the outer holed plate has 'Schwinn Approved' stamped on it.

Is the wheel and hub/gear cluster all one unit or can I just get a wheel? Potential sources of parts?

The tire size is 27 x 1-1/4.

Any pointers to parts sources is appreciated. BTW, I already did a quick search of fleabay and the local Craigs list....

Thanks

J
Old 04-24-24, 04:24 PM
SurferRosa
señor miembro

Bikes: '70s - '80s Campagnolo

Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Quoted: 3905 Post(s)
Liked 6,513 Times in 3,228 Posts
Online pics of vintage Suburbans show an external rear derailleur and freewheel hub, so you could always source the necessary new parts: 27" rim and spokes.

Of course, the least expensive thing to do is find a donor 27" wheel that already has a 5-speed freewheel so you know the hub spacing (120mm) is the correct fit.

See if you have a bike co-op nearby. And if you add your location to your profile, someone local might be able to help.
Old 04-24-24, 04:45 PM
albrt 

Bikes: 1964(?) Frejus Tour de France, 1967(?) Dawes Double Blue, 1979 Trek 710, 1982 Claud Butler Dalesman, 1983 Schwinn Paramount Elite, 2014 Brompton, maybe a couple more

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked 680 Times in 332 Posts