Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Overhaul or Upgrade of Bottom Bracket (Sugino Super Maxy triple)

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-14, 09:10 PM
MauriceMoss

Bikes: None in ridable condition

Mentioned: 126 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked 645 Times in 193 Posts

Hi Everyone,

I've been visiting BF for a few months now, but this is my first time posting. This is a great forum (especially C&V) and I love learning from experiences you all share here. Thanks!

I'm relatively new to bike repair and restoration of classic bikes. I'm currently trying to restore a 1982 Bridgestone Antares L.D.T, and ran into a bit of a bottom bracket problem.
The spindle shows some pitting on the races but there is also some galling on the external threads (the galling is all on the non-drive side).

I understand that at this point I could:

- Replace retainers with loose bearings and maybe eke out a few more miles with current setup (although I'm concerned about the galled threads). Cheap.
- Get a new spindle, although from what I've read so far these spindles don't seem to be of very good quality. Relatively cheap.
- Upgrade to a cartridge bottom bracket (such as Shimano UN55, IRD QB-55/75, VO Grand Cru, possibly others). The problem here is the spindle length; UN55 goes up to 127mm, IRD QB75 up to 127.5mm (although I can't find any stores with that size in stock). Relatively less cheap.

Assuming that this is a bike I'll be riding for a while (hopefully), which approach would you recommend?