Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Bianchi BB

Old 09-15-19, 11:14 AM
Jd512k

Bikes: Bianchi Sempre Pro & Binanchi Campione del Mondo

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bianchi BB

Hello all. Newbie here.

Rebuilding a 90’s Bianchi Campione (can not post photos yet per forum rules...).

Details - All Campagnolo (Mirage/Avanti). 8sp/Double Mirage Crank. 111/68 English (1.37/24) BB.

Question - Purchased a Mirage triple crank (son has the identical bike, his has the triple, mine came with the double...), do I need to replace the 111 BB with one that has a longer spindle or will the 111 work with the triple? Additionally, is the the Avanti front derail adjustable to accommodate a triple?

Thank you in advance! So glad to have found this forum.. first time really tearing into a bike and definitely need all the advice, tips and wisdom you all have to offer here.

Last edited by Jd512k; 09-15-19 at 11:37 AM. Reason: Can’t post photos :(
Old 09-15-19, 12:56 PM
T-Mar

Mentioned: 654 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4722 Post(s)
Liked 3,036 Times in 1,874 Posts
The 111mm bottom bracket was intended for double crankset and also triple crancksets when used with frames having a 28.6mm seat tube. There was a 115.5mm bottom bracket intended for triple cranksets when used with frame having a 32mm or 35mm seat tube.

Avanti had a dedicated triple front derailleur. The double version had a claimed capacity of only 15T and most Campagnolo triple cranksets of the era had a 20T differential .
Old 09-15-19, 12:56 PM
Old Fireleg

Bikes: '76 Colnago Super NR,'83 Romani Aero KL/SP SR, '85 Mino Denti Aero Master CR, '86 ALAN Cyclo-cross DA, '89 Bottecchia SLX CR, '90 Colnago Master Piu CR

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked 71 Times in 48 Posts