Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Why are my legs always sore?

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-15, 05:44 PM
rms13

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts

I've been riding road for about 5 years. I've only been serious for past 3 and even as such, I only have time to ride 60-80 miles per week on a good week. My current schedule on the average week is like this:

Sun: 20-40 miles (2000-3000 feet climbing)
Mon: rest
Tue: 20 miles (800-1000 feet)
Wed: rest
Thu: 20 miles (800-1000 feet)
Fri: rest
Sat: rest

On the average week these are all solo rides. I generally ride as hard as I can and avg around 15mph on these solo rides. My nutrition is pretty good. My sleep is so so. I have a 4 month old baby at home but I still manage to sleep solid 11pm-6am on most nights. The only other exercise I get these days is body weight training usually on the days I don't ride and I'll only do leg related stuff once a week to try to give my legs the most rest they can get. But still, today (Wed rest day) my legs feel like they are made of cement. My quads, hamstrings and calves all feel heavy and sore. I try to stretch every day as well. I see guys I know on Strava riding 6-7 days a week and doing 200+ miles per week. And most are my age (38) or much older. What am I doing wrong?
Old 10-07-15, 05:53 PM
FBinNY 

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5774 Post(s)
Liked 2,573 Times in 1,424 Posts
Originally Posted by rms13
...... I generally ride as hard as I can ....