Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

wanna slim down!

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

wanna slim down!

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-10, 06:21 AM
Simko
Indecisive rookie

Bikes: Nishiki Rally

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wanna slim down!

I posted some stuff on other forums, but i realize there are a lot of people "in the know" in regards to fitness, dieting etc etc etc, so here goes:

The short version: im 23, 5'8, 195lbs, not lean at all (I dont know my bf%) doc says for my blood pressure etc etc, I should be looking to drop ~20 lbs.

I know to say 20 lbs doesnt really sound right, as that could be muscle etc, but im pretty sure its just the fat (duh).

Anyways, I'm a very busy university student, couple weeks ago i started a new routine, which is much better than my old one, but I would like people here to critique it, and tell me what im doing wrong. I really dont have time to go to a gym, i have tons of schoolwork and i also volunteer at 2 research labs which takes up time too.

my routine:

wake up 6am, take 200mg caffeine (pills).
I hit the treadmil for about 30 minutes, on an interval program which is usually 1 min run, 1 min power walk, alternating.
After this, I usually just do situps, pushups and squats, bodyweight only, usually 2 sets each exercise each to fail (until i cannot complete with good form).

when im done, i usually get a scoop of whey in ~1l of water. I then shower. After my shower, i have breakfast, which is about 1 cup of oatmeal, some scrambled eggwhites, a glass of 1%milk, and an apple, or some other type of fruit.

In class, i usually snack on things like: carrotsticks, babyspinach (raw), cellery, grapes, apple, oranges, raw broccoli etc.