Old 02-25-19, 11:42 AM
sembat

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
R+E custom bikes reviews

Hello all,

I am relatively new to biking. I have done STP and RSVP. I typically do one big ride like STP or RSVP and practice for those rides during the summer. I was looking to upgrade my 10+ year old road bike and trying to decide if I should go with a standard one or a custom bike. I have read great reviews about R+E custom bikes. However, I wanted to get some opinions from fellow riders.

What are some of the considerations that people take when going for a custom bike?

What would make it worth spending extra dollars for a custom bike from R+E? I think the derailleurs, brakes, spokes etc. that they would use will typically come from some standard companies just like a non-custom bike would use (eg. SRAM or Shimano derailleurs). In other words, what is it that R+E custom bike would offer that a standard bike fitted for one's body size doesnt offer? One thing I have read is customer service.

If you go for a custom bike, would it mean that changing components, replacing tires, tubes etc. would become more expensive compared to a non-custom bike like a Trek, Specialized, Cannondale etc.?

Thanks for your help and ideas.
Old 02-25-19, 12:35 PM
Aubergine 
Bad example

Bikes: Peugeot: AO-8 1973, PA-10 1971, PR-10 1973, Sante 1988; Masi Gran Criterium 1975, Stevenson Tourer 1980, Stevenson Criterium 1981, Schwinn Paramount 1972, Rodriguez 2006, Gitane Federal ~1975, Holdsworth Pro, Follis 172 ~1973, Bianchi '62

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked 208 Times in 95 Posts
Originally Posted by sembat
Hello all,