Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Pannier Recommendations Needed - Waterproof and other requirements

Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Old 11-04-10, 10:11 AM
transplant
this portrait of karma

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So... I'm looking to add a rear rack and panniers to my commuter and need some advice because I am a super-commuter noob.

Requirements:
- Waterproof
- Hold a 15" laptop housed in a protective case which adds approx an in all around

Price: I have no problem paying a little more $$$ for something which is quality. Not looking to cut corners here.

Thanks!
Old 11-04-10, 11:20 AM
SurlyLaika

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ortlieb products are extremely durable and well thought out. The Backpacker Plus lacks organizational compartments inside, but they do have a slot for a laptop or a fat stack of papers, also a small mesh pocket, and a fairly roomy outside pocket. It closes by two sets of drawstrings, which can be sort of inconvenient to use, but that's what the outside compartment is for and the main compartment is extremely roomy and expandable. They're kinda pricey but I do not regret buying a pair. Also the attachment mechanism is very solid. I never worry about it jumping up and off the rack.

For a rack, I'm using Surly Nice Racks.
I'm sort of a nub, too, but I'm completely satisfied with this set up.
Old 11-04-10, 11:24 AM
SurlyLaika

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oh yea, they're extremely waterproof.
Old 11-04-10, 11:35 AM
MichaelW

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts
You can get bike-mountable briefcase like panniers from Ortleib , Carradice and Arkel.
Old 11-04-10, 11:57 AM
chrismurray

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts