Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

The older I get the less I care

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 12-24-18, 01:27 PM
Hondo Gravel
Life Feeds On Life

Bikes: Too many Motobecanes

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4405 Post(s)
Liked 4,520 Times in 3,022 Posts

Pushing 51 and I have noticed that as time passes by the less I care. Is this normal when being 50+? I’m a newbie so any insight will be helpful.
Old 12-24-18, 01:57 PM
jon c. 

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked 1,017 Times in 571 Posts
I care less about things I never cared about all that much in the first place. I think as you get older your assessment of what really matters tends to change. Externally imposed 'norms' begin to carry less weight, but those things which have always personally meant a great deal to you remain important.
Old 12-24-18, 02:35 PM
BlazingPedals

Bikes: Trek 7500, RANS V-Rex, Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, M-5 Carbon Highracer, Catrike Speed

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked 733 Times in 454 Posts
The less you care about what?
Old 12-24-18, 02:36 PM
GuessWhoCycling
Banned.

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Who cares?
Likes For GuessWhoCycling:
Old 12-24-18, 03:29 PM
GadgetGirlIL

Bikes: 2003 Litespeed Vortex, 2017 All-City Mr. Pink, ~1997 Trek Multitrack 700

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked 94 Times in 57 Posts
57 here and, yes, I really don't give a damn about what other people think anymore. I march to the beat of a different drummer. Wish I could have realized earlier on that it is okay to be different instead of trying to always conform to what I thought others expected.
Likes For GadgetGirlIL:
Old 12-24-18, 04:16 PM
downhillmaster

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked 776 Times in 402 Posts