Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

What's this bike worth?

Old 06-12-19, 07:15 PM
maljason

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is this is a good deal for a beginning cyclist?

Hello all-

I'm new to cycling and looking for a decent but affordable commuter bike to get to work and around town. I found a CL post (can't submit link but will send it to you if you'd like) for the following bike:

-70's Motobecane Grand Touring 10-speed
-54cm frame, 18" wheels
-Green color
-W/ original Burley bag
-Poster says new tubes and tires and ready to go

-Price: $150

Is this a decent deal? I'm about 5'8", so that frame size seems right from what I've read online. But again, very new to cycling, so any help/advice would be very much appreciated.

(And yes, I'll also take it for a spin and make sure it's comfortable when I look at it in-person, too - but wanted some opinions going into it!)

Thanks!
Old 06-12-19, 07:17 PM
DSL6
Trek DS Fan

Bikes: Trek 8.2 DS / Trek DS 4

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
18" wheels are kind of tiny.
Old 06-12-19, 07:42 PM
jon c. 

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked 1,017 Times in 571 Posts
Very hard to tell without pix, but if it's in good shape with new tubes and tires that's probably a decent price. It also depends a lot on your market. Some areas command significantly higher prices. Condition is everything at that level. Are you going to need to repair or replace anything? If not and you like the bike, it's worth it. If it has a few issues, it might be worth only half that. And do you like the look and feel of the bike when you ride it? If it makes you smile, you should buy it.

You can search the C & V valuations forum here and probably find a thread on a similar bike.
Old 06-12-19, 07:51 PM
maljason