Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Put a 130 hub in a 135 frame? Steel.

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Put a 130 hub in a 135 frame? Steel.

Old 07-01-20, 11:58 AM
  #1  
rosefarts
With a mighty wind
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked 269 Times in 153 Posts
Put a 130 hub in a 135 frame? Steel.

I'm probably going to need to temporarily pare down my bikes for a short term contract.

I got to thinking about the gravel bike as a road bike.

It's an older steel CX bike with Canti's and 135mm spacing.

I took a set of road wheels and tightened it up. It works and the wheel is centered. I have a bar end shifter so I switched to friction, and it smoothly sailed through the Campy cassette. I'd be pretty limited with gears, since I have 12-30 and 12-25 cassettes for the road wheels, and the gravel bike is 40t 1x.

Still this could allow me to go on casual road rides by only bringing spare wheels. If I need to point up a mountain, hopefully it's a dirt road and I can put on my other wheels with a much wider cassette.

I sort of would like to maybe meet in the middle though, like 1.5 or 2 mm spacers on each side. I can't put spacers under the locknut, they'd have to be outside due to the construction of my hubs.

Is this a worthwhile endeavor?
rosefarts is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:11 PM
  #2  
70sSanO
Senior Member
 
70sSanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Mission Viejo
Posts: 2,399

Bikes: 1986 Cannondale SR400 (Flat bar commuter), 1988 Cannondale Criterium XTR, 1992 Serotta T-Max, 1995 Trek 970

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked 280 Times in 198 Posts
So you can’t add a 2mm or so spacer to just the NDS? If you could and had enough spoke threads to re-dish the wheel you would end up with a stronger wheel.

John
70sSanO is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:19 PM
  #3  
rosefarts
With a mighty wind
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked 269 Times in 153 Posts
Originally Posted by 70sSanO View Post
So you canít add a 2mm or so spacer to just the NDS? If you could and had enough spoke threads to re-dish the wheel you would end up with a stronger wheel.

John
Neither of my road wheels have threaded axles or cup and cone. Early aughts Campagnolo and somewhat newer Stan's 3.30ti. I could redish the Campy wheels no prob, but I'd be putting these back on the road bike in 3-6 months. And the spacer would still have to be loose on the outside of the locknut.
rosefarts is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:20 PM
  #4  
ljsense
Senior Member
 
ljsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Madison, Wis.
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
I wouldn't bother with spacers. Any steel frame can handle a little flex like that. For years, everyone road 130 mm wheels in frams that wanted 126, and it worked fine. Shimano made their 8 speed Dura Ace hubs with rounded axle nuts to help spread the frame.

2.5 mm deflection on each side just makes getting the wheel skewer tight a little bit more of a hassle. Beyond that issue, there is no issue.
ljsense is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:24 PM
  #5  
pdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern Deep South
Posts: 6,171

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1306 Post(s)
Liked 401 Times in 277 Posts
I thought my steel frame could handle being spread from 130 to 135, and I didn't need to worry about bending the dropouts so they were vertical. Worked for about 6 years, then the frame broke.

Next I swapped a 135 wheel into a 130 frame, without spreading the frame. Worked one or two years, until the dropout cracked.

Slow learner, but I can learn. Now I try to match hub width to frame width.
pdlamb is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:31 PM
  #6  
rosefarts
With a mighty wind
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked 269 Times in 153 Posts
Originally Posted by pdlamb View Post
I thought my steel frame could handle being spread from 130 to 135, and I didn't need to worry about bending the dropouts so they were vertical. Worked for about 6 years, then the frame broke.

Next I swapped a 135 wheel into a 130 frame, without spreading the frame. Worked one or two years, until the dropout cracked.

Slow learner, but I can learn. Now I try to match hub width to frame width.
Do you suppose stretching it vs compression makes a difference?
rosefarts is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:31 PM
  #7  
70sSanO
Senior Member
 
70sSanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Mission Viejo
Posts: 2,399

Bikes: 1986 Cannondale SR400 (Flat bar commuter), 1988 Cannondale Criterium XTR, 1992 Serotta T-Max, 1995 Trek 970

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked 280 Times in 198 Posts
Originally Posted by rosefarts View Post
Neither of my road wheels have threaded axles or cup and cone. Early aughts Campagnolo and somewhat newer Stan's 3.30ti. I could redish the Campy wheels no prob, but I'd be putting these back on the road bike in 3-6 months. And the spacer would still have to be loose on the outside of the locknut.
Are there any end cap conversions for your hub. Iím not well versed on what conversions are available?

John
70sSanO is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:37 PM
  #8  
pdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern Deep South
Posts: 6,171

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1306 Post(s)
Liked 401 Times in 277 Posts
Originally Posted by rosefarts View Post
Do you suppose stretching it vs compression makes a difference?
Thinking about it, I suspect what did them both in was the bending mode. The dropout and chainstay system deformed when the wheel was installed and the quick release tightened in both instances. Chainstay gave first on the first bike, dropout cracked first on the second.

(Disclaimer: I'm not an engineer, but I played one on Railroad Tycoon.)
pdlamb is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 12:45 PM
  #9  
rosefarts
With a mighty wind
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked 269 Times in 153 Posts
There is a $7.50 spacer on Amazon that would work. Dishing the Campy wheel, with the open pro's, would be easy enough. Then I wouldn't have to adjust the derailleur, I could even leave it friction for both wheels if I wanted.

Looking at both Amazon and eBay, it looks like 2 months to get it. So even if I went this route, I'm not patient enough to wait.

Last edited by rosefarts; 07-01-20 at 02:54 PM.
rosefarts is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.