Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Fixing up a Savoy Infinite (kid's bike)

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-20, 11:52 AM
treadtread

Bikes: 2012 Specialized Sirrus

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

One of my neighbors just gave us an old Savoy Infinite - which is a kid's bike, circa 2015? Not sure - I couldn't find much about this online. I want to fix this up as a project with my son, who is 10 years old - he is quite excited about fixing it and using it. From what I saw:
1. The rims have rust on them - I hope I can clean that up. Any suggestions? Getting a new wheel set isn't something I want to do.
2. The wheels - especially the rear one - needs truing. I am not good at this - if I get the rust off, I will have to take it to a bike shop to get the wheels trued.
3. All the cables (gear and brake) and brake pads need changing.
4. The tires look okay, but definitely needs new tubes - that should be easy.
5. Needs a new seat.

Surprisingly, the shifters and the derailleurs look okay - maybe because they are heavy?
I do routine maintenance on all our family bikes, but I haven't taken on a project of this sort yet. Any comments/suggestions would be very welcome. I live in the East Bay near San Francisco - all the bike co-ops I know about are far away - San Francisco and Palo Alto. I will search for ones in my area, but with Covid-19 I don't know how many will be open any way (in case I need to get old-new parts for the bike).

Also - any estimates on how much it would take to get this bike light trails worthy, and safe? I need to factor in the cost of getting the wheels trued as well.

Old 09-04-20, 01:16 PM
hokiefyd 

Bikes: More bikes than riders

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)