Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

830 anomalies

Old 08-03-20, 05:46 AM
speedlever
Hills!

Bikes: 2008 Trek Madone 5.5, 2005 Marin Novato, Trek 7100

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts
830 anomalies

I'm still pretty new to the 830 having come from an old Edge 305. I've noticed a routing anomaly that seems to occur consistently, at least on 1 route that I ride.

This particular route has a leg that starts from a T intersection and goes for about 1.25 miles, then I u-turn at a stoplight and retrace that leg and continue past the point where I initially turned onto the road. What I'm seeing is that about 1/4 mile before my u-turn, I'm getting a map alert to do an early u-turn.I ignore the directions and continue to my normal u-turn point, then reverse course. The 830 records everything of course, so it's no big deal. But I'm wondering if this is just an isolated issue or if that's a common issue when a u-turn is involved? I don't think I have another route that involves a planned u-turn like that on a different road. Normal turn alerts pop up at 1/10th mile intervals for me.

Secondly, about 40 miles into a 50 mile ride yesterday, the 830 popped up a message telling me the virtual partner something-or-other has ended. What is that all about? I did not intentionally set up any training event and have never intentionally used the virtual partner feature. Any thoughts?
Old 08-03-20, 08:58 AM
njkayaker

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 4244 Post(s)
Liked 1,346 Times in 934 Posts
Originally Posted by speedlever