Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Rainman slaps Garmin

Road Cycling ďIt is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.Ē -- Ernest Hemingway

Rainman slaps Garmin

Old 06-20-19, 12:56 PM
  #76  
Beach Bob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 163

Bikes: Giant Defy Pro 0, Felt V85

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Trsnrtr View Post
The censor has been fixed. Carry on.
If this is truly a Garmin thread, then can we safely assume that at some point in the future the U*N*I* bug will be back?
Beach Bob is offline  
Likes For Beach Bob:
Old 06-20-19, 01:16 PM
  #77  
ksryder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,857

Bikes: yes

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 50 Posts
This completely wild speculation my part without a shred of supporting evidence (i.e., rock solid fact on Bikeforums) but I would trace all of Garmin's continued software problems back to 2010 when the entire Garmin Connect team quit, rather than move to Kansas: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2010/03/...am-tossed.html

As someone who has lived in Kansas my entire life, I really don't blame the developers.
ksryder is offline  
Old 06-20-19, 02:39 PM
  #78  
mccombs
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by ksryder View Post
This completely wild speculation my part without a shred of supporting evidence (i.e., rock solid fact on Bikeforums) but I would trace all of Garmin's continued software problems back to 2010 when the entire Garmin Connect team quit, rather than move to Kansas.

As someone who has lived in Kansas my entire life, I really don't blame the developers.
This could have contributed to the problem. Obviously they have developers now, and they may even be pretty decent overall. Developers in every company deliver bugs. They're human and it can't be avoided. Bugs at most companies are found during testing, and the significant ones get fixed and retested before release. Garmin seems to have the worst Test/QA department. Sometimes, it looks like the releases aren't even tested since the bugs are so big and so obvious.

I don't know how good the Garmin developers are, but its very clear that the Test/QA department needs a sharp kick. Actually, a kick wont do it. They need to bring in new Test/QA folks that know what their doing.
mccombs is offline  
Old 06-20-19, 04:19 PM
  #79  
njkayaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11,061
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Originally Posted by ksryder View Post
This completely wild speculation my part without a shred of supporting evidence (i.e., rock solid fact on Bikeforums) but I would trace all of Garmin's continued software problems back to 2010 when the entire Garmin Connect team quit, rather than move to Kansas: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2010/03/...am-tossed.html
This makes no sense.

The Garmin Connect team were web developers.
njkayaker is online now  
Old 06-22-19, 06:16 PM
  #80  
Metieval
Senior Member
 
Metieval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,853

Bikes: Road bike, Hybrid, Gravel, Drop bar SS, hard tail MTB

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
my 500 was flawless until they released a newer edge, and um updated my 500.

my 520 was flawless until they released the 530, and auto updated my 520.

I see a pattern here that disturbs me.
__________________
Dawes SST AL, Cannondale Synapse Alloy 105, Giant Talon 29er, Trek Crossrip Elite,
Metieval is online now  
Old 06-22-19, 06:56 PM
  #81  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,077
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7994 Post(s)
Liked 197 Times in 129 Posts
Originally Posted by hsuehhwa View Post
If you like long rides (> 6 hrs), you're more likely to experience Garmin failure in your rides. My Garmin 520 crashed approximately once of every six century rides. That is, one Garmin failure every ~42 hrs of rides. For most, it's probably quite acceptable. For some that enjoy long rides/Century/Gran Fondo events, it could be troublesome, since you would like the events being recorded accurately. As a result, I've seen people using two devices to record their important rides. In addition to my Garmin 520, I always use Strava on my Apple Watch in the paid cycling events.
You know I do individual hikes longer than 42 hours sometimes and have no trouble with my Garmin watch.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 06-22-19, 07:19 PM
  #82  
BengalCat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 99

Bikes: 50/34, 11-40, 11 Speed

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by dim View Post
I have the Garmin Edge 1000... I see that the Garmin forum has now changed and there is no longer a section for the Edge 1000 .... that sucks as I frequented the forum often to see what new software updates were available and what bugs other users found
For the OP TL;DR article. "Headline" Link definitely IMO has some truth to its proclamation.

As for the Edge 1000, (which is what I have), if you haven't already found out...for the latest map update you have to buy an SD Card minimum of 4 GB or a max of 32 GB to install before you can download and update.
BengalCat is offline  
Old 06-22-19, 07:56 PM
  #83  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,009

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked 66 Times in 52 Posts
FWIW the last wahoo update messed a bunch a crap on their units. Its not just Garmin that issues I guess.
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 06-22-19, 09:04 PM
  #84  
mccombs
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by BengalCat View Post
For the OP TL;DR article. "Headline" Link definitely IMO has some truth to its proclamation.

As for the Edge 1000, (which is what I have), if you haven't already found out...for the latest map update you have to buy an SD Card minimum of 4 GB or a max of 32 GB to install before you can download and update.
I know this is off-topic, but since the garmin 1000 forum is DOA, would you post a link to details about how to do the latest map update?
mccombs is offline  
Old 06-22-19, 09:31 PM
  #85  
jimincalif
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 2,033

Bikes: '96 Trek 850, '08 Specialized Roubaix Comp, '18 Niner RLT RDO

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 492 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 31 Times in 14 Posts
After about three weeks of LiveTrack working again (after installing a Garmin Connect app update to fix the update that broke LiveTrack), no joy last two rides. One of the two iPhone Bluetooth connections isnít working. Deleted the 520+ from phone, deleted phone connection from the 520+, re-paired, no change. Sigh.
jimincalif is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 08:39 AM
  #86  
Trsnrtr
Super Moderator
 
Trsnrtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,775

Bikes: Giant Propel, Gianni Motta, Co-Motion Supremo, ICE VTX

Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6190 Post(s)
Liked 56 Times in 41 Posts
Originally Posted by mccombs View Post
I know this is off-topic, but since the garmin 1000 forum is DOA, would you post a link to details about how to do the latest map update?
The Garmin Express app does that automatically if you plug your Garmin into a desktop or laptop.
__________________
Dennis T

Trsnrtr is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 09:20 AM
  #87  
BengalCat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 99

Bikes: 50/34, 11-40, 11 Speed

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Trsnrtr View Post
The Garmin Express app does that automatically if you plug your Garmin into a desktop or laptop.
Correct, but for the latest map update you have to first install into your Garmin Edge 1000 an SD card as the Edge 1000 memory isn't sufficient to handle the amount of download.
BengalCat is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 09:38 AM
  #88  
tntyz
Senior Member
 
tntyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nabob, WI
Posts: 1,197

Bikes: 2018 Domane SL7

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Edge 520 is weirdly inconsistent. Lot's of trouble connecting to my Di2 (Shimano EW-WU111) letely. For a few weeks it worked great as long as I connected phone to Edge before anything else by firing up the Connect app on my phone. Now it seems to require an Edge restart instead.

I wonder how it will fail next week?
tntyz is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 09:49 AM
  #89  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 3,238

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Soma Smoothie, Miyata City Liner, Specialized FSR Comp, Fuji Professional

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1086 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 18 Posts
Originally Posted by BengalCat View Post
Correct, but for the latest map update you have to first install into your Garmin Edge 1000 an SD card as the Edge 1000 memory isn't sufficient to handle the amount of download.
I just purchased a new Garmin GPS (DriveSmart 55) for the car as my old unit it replaced was 13 years old.

- The new unit cannot be found by Garmin Express on a PC
- The WiFi (yes, it has WiFi) map and system download took 2 hrs. I assume the Garmin server uses a dial up modem ?
- The unit wanted a SIM card to handle the map and system updates. I was lucky I had one in the old unit.

So the experience with a standard consumer product is that Garmin has some of the worst system designers in the world working for them. I recall being frustrated 13 years ago when my Navi unit was new.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 11:41 AM
  #90  
puma1552
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 616

Bikes: '17 Colnago C-RS (Full 5800); '16 Specialized Sirrus Elite

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 13 Posts
I was going to buy a 520 Edge, but all the complaints about bugs and more so just utter crap battery life rendering it useless in short order just made me feel like I'd be lighting $250 on fire, color screen be damned.

Bought a Bolt instead with that money, and while I've experienced one bug with it, I'm generally pretty happy with it and don't feel like I'm just waiting for it to die already with impending plans to replace it a year later with something else.
puma1552 is offline  
Old 06-23-19, 12:08 PM
  #91  
Shimagnolo
Senior Member
 
Shimagnolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Zang's Spur, CO
Posts: 8,754
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1575 Post(s)
Liked 70 Times in 49 Posts
My annoyances with the Edge 1000:

- A few months after buying it, the Edge 1000 forum vanished on Garmin Forums.

- After it suddenly started losing GPS lock repeatedly on a ride, some googling turned up the solution of disabling GLONASS to solve the problem. (So what is the point of a feature that must be disabled?)

- I tried using the screenlock a few times, but learned that was a mistake, as it is almost never possible to unlock it.

- There are 3 profiles (Train/Indoor/Race), each with their own map selection, but in fact changing the map selection for one, changes it for all of them.

- The last time I updated the maps, it informed me that due to lack of sufficient internal flash, it was installing on the microSD card, and I could not remove that card, else it would not function properly.
Shimagnolo is online now  
Old 06-23-19, 12:49 PM
  #92  
Trsnrtr
Super Moderator
 
Trsnrtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,775

Bikes: Giant Propel, Gianni Motta, Co-Motion Supremo, ICE VTX

Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6190 Post(s)
Liked 56 Times in 41 Posts
Originally Posted by BengalCat View Post
Correct, but for the latest map update you have to first install into your Garmin Edge 1000 an SD card as the Edge 1000 memory isn't sufficient to handle the amount of download.
Sorry, I should have read closer. My 1030 has a card but the maps are stored on internal storage. I'll butt out. Carry on.
__________________
Dennis T

Trsnrtr is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 06:01 AM
  #93  
Ald1 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Central Pa.
Posts: 235

Bikes: Domane SLR 9 Fuji Gran Fondo 2.3 1978 Mercian

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
My 1030 has been fine after the freeze up issue early last year was corrected. However, never used live tracks and I don't do Strava. I had a bike accident this March. 64 miles in on a 67 mile ride. Lady pulled right out in front of me. Can't remember much about the accident due to concussion and post concussion stuff. Accident was on a Saturday and police took the bike so I got it back on Monday. Amazingly the garmin was still recording the ride so I got a very accurate deconstruct of the accident, My panic braking (blew out the rear tire) and my impact speed, the 35 MPH police ride my bike took etc. Anyway very impressed that the battery endured! On the down side the incident detection did not work. I missed that you need to have the Garmin app open for that to work?
Ald1 is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 08:37 AM
  #94  
hsuehhwa 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Huntington Harbor, CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
You know I do individual hikes longer than 42 hours sometimes and have no trouble with my Garmin watch.
Got the startup frozen screen again yesterday on my Garmin 520. Tried multiple reset but didnít work . Finally it was able to get to the start screen 60 min into the ride.
hsuehhwa is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 06:45 PM
  #95  
brianmcg123
Senior Member
 
brianmcg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: TN
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by hsuehhwa View Post
Got the startup frozen screen again yesterday on my Garmin 520. Tried multiple reset but didnít work . Finally it was able to get to the start screen 60 min into the ride.
Not bad.
brianmcg123 is online now  
Old 06-24-19, 09:43 PM
  #96  
DrIsotope
Non omnino gravis
 
DrIsotope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SoCal, USA!
Posts: 6,755

Bikes: Nekobasu, Pandicorn

Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3603 Post(s)
Liked 168 Times in 125 Posts
My 520 had the freeze screen several times during its time in service. The most recent was when a software update tried to run when there wasn't enough storage space, and the thing basically had a stroke. I had to do a full reset. I think it had 3 full resets in 2 years, which for a Garmin was pretty good.
__________________
DrIsotope is online now  
Old 06-24-19, 10:10 PM
  #97  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,077
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7994 Post(s)
Liked 197 Times in 129 Posts
Originally Posted by Shimagnolo View Post
- After it suddenly started losing GPS lock repeatedly on a ride, some googling turned up the solution of disabling GLONASS to solve the problem. (So what is the point of a feature that must be disabled?)
How well GLONASS supplementation works depends where you live (in relation to the satellite constellation). From what I've heard using the two together doesn't work as well as you'd hope, for pretty much anyone. Like the receiver gets confused and doesn't know who to trust or something.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 10:23 PM
  #98  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,077
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7994 Post(s)
Liked 197 Times in 129 Posts
Originally Posted by hsuehhwa View Post
Got the startup frozen screen again yesterday on my Garmin 520. Tried multiple reset but didnít work . Finally it was able to get to the start screen 60 min into the ride.
For what it's worth I don't think your lying and I hope you don't think I am. Maybe you use yours in ways they didn't anticipate and I only go down the happy path, I don't know. I think part of it has to do with their watches being better than their bike computers.

I would find what you're describing unacceptable. I would personally try to get them to replace it under warranty, partly out of spite.

Maybe I've been lucky in my experience with them, I don't know. But I do know a lot of cyclists have had a lot of trouble with most of their computers. Figured everyone would like a good excuse to complain. I'm sure they have someone doing "reputation management" for them who might even read this thread.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 10:36 PM
  #99  
hsuehhwa 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Huntington Harbor, CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
For what it's worth I don't think your lying and I hope you don't think I am. Maybe you use yours in ways they didn't anticipate and I only go down the happy path, I don't know. I think part of it has to do with their watches being better than their bike computers.

I would find what you're describing unacceptable. I would personally try to get them to replace it under warranty, partly out of spite.

Maybe I've been lucky in my experience with them, I don't know. But I do know a lot of cyclists have had a lot of trouble with most of their computers. Figured everyone would like a good excuse to complain. I'm sure they have someone doing "reputation management" for them who might even read this thread.
I totally understand. As I mentioned earlier, I have had no problem at all with my previous two garmin 500 & 800. The first six months of Garmin 520 ownership was great until a firmware upgrade....
hsuehhwa is offline  
Old 06-24-19, 10:43 PM
  #100  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,077
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7994 Post(s)
Liked 197 Times in 129 Posts
I had the 800 for almost a decade. It was rock solid. Actually it was probably really buggy in the beginning because they all seem to be, but I didn't really know to use it for anything but a speedometer and a map back then. The only reason I'm not still using it (I'm getting cheaper as I get older) is that it was on a bike that got stolen. I tried a 1000 for about a week, but I didn't really feel like it was worth the money.
Seattle Forrest is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.