Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Bicycle Rental Business

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Bicycle Rental Business

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-15, 04:06 PM
jtwetzel

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bicycle Rental Business

Hello,

First of all, I am new to this site so pardon me if I post in the wrong place! I was wondering if any of you have any experience in running a bike rental business. I am researching this topic because it seems like something that would interest me. I have a degree in Recreation Administration and have rented bikes before and rode them on the beach and that was a cool experience. I have family that lives in Hilton Head Island, SC and think that is a great place for rentals. There are a number of companies already in that area.

What are some of the high points to look into when considering starting a business. Assume that I know nothing about running a rental business. (I do know some about bikes). How many bikes would I feasibly want/need to start out? What other equipment would I need? (obviously spare tires, chains, pumps etc).

Basically I know that a tourist area is prime for bicycle rentals and a highly trafficked area is best. Would it be wise to combine a bicycle rental business with another type of business like a restaurant/smoothie shop etc..

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone!
Old 05-13-15, 04:20 PM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
Insurance.. Ive seen some bare bones rentals in Ireland, but in the US you can't swing a cat and not hit a Contingency Fee Lawyer ..