Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Newbie looking at these bikes:

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-16, 03:59 PM
Brantel

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am a newbie road cyclist wan't to be who want to get a decent bike out of the gate but cannot break the bank doing so.

I am 5'9" and around 200lbs. I am a slow runner that has completed 6 half marathons and 2 full marathons and dozens of other races (5,8,10 & 15K) in the past 2 years. I have lost over 135lbs as well but at 45 years old, it seems to lose more weight and to get faster running is going to beat up my body so I have been looking at getting into road cycling.

My goals for a road bike are simple: Outdoor low impact aerobic exercise to help me lose more weight to improve my health. (I forgot to mention that I am also a cardiac athlete with 3 stents in my heart. 2 in 2008 and 1 in 2015...)

I have been looking at these bikes:

Diamondback Bikes - Road Bikes - Century 1

https://www.raleighusa.com/merit-3#

After some research I am under the impression that the Shimano 105 setup on this bike is like the gold standard on this class of bike.

The rest of the specs seem to also be good for a bike in this class as far as I know.