Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

To trust an untrue but stable wheel or not?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-14, 01:47 AM
krobinson103

Bikes: Nothing amazing... cheap old 21 speed mtb

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

My Brevet bike broke two spokes at the same time a few days back. replaced them and trued the wheel as best I could (I'm no expert so I can't get it absolutely true, but it turns). Had some issues with the caliper and an untrue wheel so for now I dropped in a wider single pivot caliper. Wheel tension seems to be even but the rim won't come true and when I do true it the spokes are too loose. I have a 200lm brevet in two weeks and not enough cash to replace the wheel until next month. Is a repaired, stable, but slightly untrue wheel likely to break more spokes? The single pivot caliper is ugly but it works and I can live with it till I find a nicer wheel set.
Old 06-03-14, 04:15 AM
Retro Grouch 

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1572 Post(s)
Liked 643 Times in 364 Posts
If it's too wobbly I'd vote for that over loose spokes on one side. If you try to tighten the spokes too much on the other side they will eventually pull through the rim.

Good luck!
Old 06-03-14, 04:38 AM
krobinson103

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Commuted on it. No worse than the beaters downatairs, but they don't go 260km in one hit. Broken spojes.means.a DNF or a rear brakeless ride on a questionable wheel.
Old 06-03-14, 05:39 AM
JohnDThompson 
Old fart

Bikes: Several, mostly not name brands.

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Quoted: 3590 Post(s)
Liked 3,401 Times in 1,935 Posts