Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Triathlon
Reload this Page >

First Ironman Ever - Is Steel Really Real?

Search
Notices
Triathlon Swim / Bike / Run your thing? Drop in our new triathlon forum for the latest in training & gear. From beginner to expert, and sprint to ironman.

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-20, 01:09 PM
amfarhat

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone,
First time poster, long time lurker looking for some advice. I'm signed up for my first Ironman this year (Santa Rosa) and was hoping for some advice on what bike I should use. I have an old 1988 centurion ironman dave scott expert road bike 12 speed that I am comfortable on and was considering using it. I'm planning to strap some aero bars to it (and any other modifications you recommend) and calling it a day. I'm a medical student on a very tight budget so am hoping to avoid having to purchase another bike (like a cannondale caad 4 or 5) but may consider it if those who are more experienced think otherwise. This IM should be a one and done type of thing for me and I'm not trying to break any records here but also don't want to look like a clown come race day. What are your thoughts?
Old 03-09-20, 09:36 AM
doubravsky 

Bikes: Colnago Crystal, GT MTB, Fuji D6 TT bike, Breezer Beltway commuter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
I had a Centurion back in the 90’s. Solid bike once I swapped out the biopace chainrings! Add an aero bar and go for it! Triathletes are pretty friendly- and you’ll see other bikes there that are road bikes with some miles on them ..
Old 03-10-20, 03:18 AM
Vintage Schwinn

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked 396 Times in 259 Posts