Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Tig brazing over Tig welds for for a little razzle dazzle.

Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Old 05-09-20, 11:43 PM
BoozyMcliverRot

Bikes: 1991 Diamondback Master TG 1990 Trek 850 Antelope

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked 325 Times in 106 Posts

So, a little bit of background is that I'm a welder,went to school for it, certified in carbon steel,stainless steel and aluminum. Been working and Tig welding 6000 series aluminum for the past few years. I have a frame that isn't a big deal(KHS Urban X), I got a powder coater I helped out when he needed to get some jobs done quick and I can get it done for cost of powder.

What I was thinking was I would Tig braze over the welds and polish the frame and powder a candy color over it so that the braze being a different color than the steel would shine through Are there any problems I might encounter?

This is purely for looks.
Old 05-10-20, 02:06 AM
guy153

Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked 261 Times in 212 Posts
I'm TIG brazing with silicon bronze over TIG welds on steel for a project I'm working on now where he wants a "raw" finish. I'm going for the look of a fillet brazed frame, but I only have/know how to use the TIG. Silicon bronze on its own might be strong enough but I don't want to chance it.

The process works well. The hard part, that needs a lot of practice and patience, is filing down the fillets. A "dynafile" or "finger sander" can be used where you can reach things without gouging the actual tubes. In tighter spots you need to use hand-files, which actually aren't much slower at removing material, just harder work. So as with anything I'd try it all out on a couple of bits of scrap first.