Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Routine brake bleeding

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Routine brake bleeding

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-24, 02:17 PM
Camilo

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1109 Post(s)
Liked 1,200 Times in 760 Posts
Routine brake bleeding

These are my first bikes with hydraulic brakes so other than being able to install them successfully, I have no experience with maintenance other than adjusting the calipers and knowing how to replace pads. My wife and I got them 3 years ago (spring 2021) and I built them up with Sram AXS Force 2x with the standard Force hydraulic discs (DOT fluid). So, 3 seasons of use. We have other bikes we ride quite a bit, so I imagine they might have 2,000 miles each, not a lot.

My simple question is: Is there any reason to do routine brake bleeding and/or fluid replacement on DOT brakes if the levers are still firm and the brakes work well? I know that if they get squishy, it's time, but how about routinely in the absence of any issues?

Thanks.
Old 02-26-24, 02:54 PM
FBinNY 

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5792 Post(s)
Liked 2,581 Times in 1,431 Posts
Do you own a car? Have you ever bled the brakes other than after replacing the discs?

Same with bikes. There's no reason to bleed brakes unless you have symptoms of air in the lines, ie. spongy feel, brakes drag on hot days, etc.
Likes For FBinNY:
Old 02-26-24, 03:20 PM
oldbobcat

Bikes: '80 Masi Gran Criterium, '12 Trek Madone, early '60s Frejus track

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked 450 Times in 338 Posts