Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

New to the sport and need some help!

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-20, 04:03 PM
mmckinley33
BikeMonkey33

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Good afternoon all,

As the title says, I am new to the sport and would really appreciate some help with some details on a bike as I am currently looking to buy one used.

My first and main question is guidance in frame size.

measurements:
height: 6’1”
inseam: 32”
arm: 21”

if you could give me your input on frame size so i know where to begin, it would be much appreciated. I am wanting to ride 15-20+miles in comfort
Old 03-31-20, 04:23 PM
berner

Bikes: Specialized Secteur, old Peugeot

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked 496 Times in 299 Posts
There is quite a bit to know in fitting a bike. I began 8 years ago by going to a bike shop. They put me on just the right bike. Whether you buy at a bike shop or not, it is a good place to begin your search and see what they have.
Old 04-01-20, 06:25 AM
Maelochs

Bikes: 2015 Workswell 066, 2017 Workswell 093, 2014 Dawes Sheila, 1983 Cannondale 500, 1984 Raleigh Olympian, 2007 Cannondale Rize 4, 2017 Fuji Sportif 1 LE

Mentioned: 144 Post(s)
Quoted: 7652 Post(s)
Liked 3,473 Times in 1,834 Posts
This helps some folks and not others .... https://www.competitivecyclist.com/S...latorBike.jsp?
Old 04-01-20, 06:55 AM
Viich
Hack

Bikes: TrueNorth CX bike, 88 Bianchi Strada (currently Sturmey'd), Yess World Cup race BMX, Pure Cruiser race BMX, RSD Mayor v3 Fatbike

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked 189 Times in 131 Posts
Originally Posted by mmckinley33
Good afternoon all,