Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

I need a Strava explanation???

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-17, 01:58 PM
_ForceD_
Sr Member on Sr bikes

Bikes: Several...from old junk to new all-carbon.

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked 785 Times in 414 Posts

I've been using Strava for a couple of months now. One of the things I haven't been able to understand, or figure out, is the "Achievements" awarded for a workout. I (in New England) go for 20 mile bike ride and I earn +/- 20 achievements. Meanwhile, my brother (in Florida) goes for a 30 mile ride and will earn just 1 achievement. Best I can tell is that it must take into account the terrain. In that 20 miles I may have 1000 ft of elevation, while on his 30 mile ride he'll have less than 100 ft of elevation.

Secondly, when I enter a workout manually...a swim for example. Achievements never get awarded. Just wondering why?

Dan
Old 11-30-17, 02:15 PM
SethAZ 

Bikes: 2018 Lynskey R260, 2005 Diamondback 29er, 2003 Trek 2300

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 182 Posts
I can't speak to manually added activities, but it's likely that they won't give achievements for that because then anyone could enter whatever they wanted if they're more interested in getting achievements than actually earning them.