Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fatbikes
Reload this Page >

Changing from freewheel to cassette.

Search
Notices
Fatbikes Designed for use in sand, mud or snow, Fat bikes are the right choice for true all-terrain riding. Check here for the latest on these fun, adventurous two-wheeled machines.

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-20, 08:01 PM
Ricky277d

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm having trouble trying to understand this whole hub measurement to order a new one since it's my first time doing so. It's hard to measure the hub with the freewheel and rotor on but I came up with 177mm the same as my dropout on the bike (diamondback said it's 150mm but the tape measure reads 7inches which it 177mm). My axles are the cheap bolt on 10mm axles. I wanted to buy a new wheel with a cassette so I could switch to 9speed instead of 7speed. So would that mean if I purchased a 177mm rear wheel with QR it would fit into it? Or if I got a 170mmx12 thru axle and got a 12mm to 10mm axle and a few spacers it would work for it? Any help is appreciated thank you.
Old 04-22-20, 08:11 PM
LesterOfPuppets
cowboy, steel horse, etc

Bikes: everywhere

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12768 Post(s)
Liked 7,683 Times in 4,078 Posts
A. What model DN you got?

1. You can get 9 speed freewheels. May require respacing the rear hub a bit, but cheap and usually easy.

https://www.universalcycles.com/shop...&category=1665

2. 170mm is the nearest common size for plus/fat bikes. You really need to remove the rear wheel to get a good measurement.

3. Some bikes come with solid axles and freehubs, so make sure it's freewheel and not freehub.

Last edited by LesterOfPuppets; 04-22-20 at 08:19 PM.
Likes For LesterOfPuppets:
Old 04-22-20, 09:56 PM
Ricky277d

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by LesterOfPuppets
A. What model DN you got?