Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Climbing, out of the saddle vs sitting and gear ratio

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-17, 10:00 AM
LainfordExpress

Bikes: Wilier Triestina GTR SL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So, I'm relatively new to real road cycling, and as a tubby engine I find climbing a little tough. I generally do all my climbing from the saddle, but everything I read suggests standing up to use different muscles, etc. However, whenever I stand, I find that using the same ratio is way way too easy.

Do you guys just shift under load right before standing? Or does this mean I should be standing earlier (while still in a higher ratio)?

So maybe this progression:

Flat -> Downshift just as the grade increases -> Out of the saddle when it feels tough -> Sit back down and downshift -> Out of the saddle when it feels tough -> Sit back down and downshift -> (Repeat until having fun again).
Old 09-08-17, 10:04 AM
redlude97

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Quoted: 1975 Post(s)
Liked 232 Times in 173 Posts
shift 2-3 times to a harder gear to stand. If you're heavier then it is more efficient to climb seated so use standing sparingly
Old 09-08-17, 10:26 AM
aplcr0331
Hear myself getting fat

Bikes: Sir Velo A Sparrow

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked 265 Times in 134 Posts