Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Pedal Strike

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Pedal Strike

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-24, 05:44 AM
staehpj1

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked 756 Times in 561 Posts
Pedal Strike

I am new to full suspension. I rode rigid for a very long time and hard tails for quite a few years. My Habit 4 seems pretty prone to pedal strike. I am getting better at avoiding pedal strike and have played with suspension adjustments as well. Even with the suspension set to less sag than I prefer, I'd still like a bit more room to avoid pedal strike. It doesn't look like there is an option to adjust that (no flip chip or anything like that that I can see).

So without spending big bucks on longer travel suspension what options if any do I have? Or is it just a matter of being vigilant of where the pedals are rotated when rolling over roots and rocks?
Old 02-15-24, 07:20 AM
Cdubs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 15 Posts
I am bad for pedal strikes too. First with my Norco and now with my Scott. In my experience it is just simply my poor positioning of the pedals over rough stuff and not controlling my boke as good as I could. I just need more practice But I have damaged a few pedals in my day lol.
Old 02-15-24, 09:41 AM
2old

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked 824 Times in 623 Posts
Some of the hard riding locals are going to shorter cranks, experimenting with ones as short as 150 mm. This is pretty extreme IMO, but works for them. A 150 adds an inch of travel over (presumably) your 175's.

Last edited by 2old; 02-18-24 at 11:24 PM.
Likes For 2old:
Old 02-15-24, 02:31 PM
prj71

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 2976 Post(s)
Liked 1,182 Times in 771 Posts
A few options: