Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Specialized Roubaix

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-23, 02:25 PM
kywldcts

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Specialized Roubaix

Hi, I’m new to the forum. I’ve been putting on weight steadily for about 20 years and I finally became tired of it. I topped out at 288 and decided to make some permanent lifestyle changes. I’ve been tracking portion sizes and calories for about a month now as well as walking, riding my Specialized Roll, and using a stationary recumbent exercise on days when I don’t do the others. My appetite is way down and cravings are nonexistent which is great. After about 3 days it got and has remained incredibly easy and I’m down 10 pounds already.

Anyway, there’s a 2011 Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert Compact for sale near me. They’re asking $500. I’d like to get something that’s a little lighter and faster than my Roll that will be better suited to riding longer. Is this a good deal? Any suggestions on things to look for or a lower offer that wouldn’t be insulting? Money isn’t really that big of a concern for me, but I also really like getting good deals. Would it even be suitable at my size? I’m 5’10.5 and 278 as of this morning. It’s a 56cm. I have some pics, but it won’t let me attach them because I don’t have enough posts. Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 08-09-23, 09:39 PM
MikeM21

Bikes: '96 C40, '04 C50, '04 Merlin Magia, '97 Stumpjumper, '04 Specilaized Roubaix

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 562 Times in 178 Posts