Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

A Question for the Helmet Zealots

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-11, 10:10 AM
skye

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

Ok, for the third time in 3 weeks, I've been accosted by some well-meaning pinhead about my lack of helmet. Out riding today, I pass this guy who then proceeds to run a red and overtake me on the right so he can lecture me. He said he was concerned about me "riding in the middle of the road through the center of town," and concluded with "and no helmet. Really?"

I can't believe how nice I was to this chump. I introduced myself, mentioned that I was a League certified cycling instructor, said I was using riding techniques that were proven to be safe, and it seemed like he could benefit from taking one of my courses next spring. Ok, it wasn't the best sales pitch in the world, but it was a couple of notches above what I wanted to say.

What I was thinking is, "you stupid twinkie, you ran a freakin' red and passed on the right to lecture *me* about *my* safety???

Other than those 30 seconds, I had a pleasant and enjoyable ride.

But my question is this: What is it about you helmet true believers that makes you want to tell everyone how to ride?

I mean, unless I'm getting paid to do so, I never offer unsolicited corrections to other people's riding, even though like everyone else on this forum, I see a lot of idiocy on the road. It's just plain rude.

So what is it with the helmet crowd that makes them think it's somehow ok for them to tell everyone else what to do?

Last edited by skye; 07-31-11 at 10:15 AM.
Old 07-31-11, 10:20 AM
Farmer Dave

Bikes: 2010 Globe Vienna Disc 3

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts