Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area
Reload this Page >

New to Track, Giordana Velodrome session, ettiquette

Search
Notices
Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-13, 08:45 AM
loverrellik

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

After reading a handful of 'new to track posts' , finding a 'new' velodrome within a few hours drive, I stopped putting it off and signed up for a cert. class at Giordana Velodrome. I have never raced in any organized format on bike, so this will be a new experience for me. I've been riding my steel khs flite 100 for a good 10 yrs in chi-town and now in the green's of Durham NC, usually just racing cars and myself, but finally found a limit of what I can do in the hilly area for sprinting. I do not know the etiquitte of track racing and am interested in jumping into racing but being on a family man's budget, will not be upgrading any of my equipment in the foreseeable future.

Does anybody here have experience racing at Giordana? What should I make sure I have available as far as hardware for the first or few races? Since 100% of my riding was on the street, i've managed over the years to upgrade all rolling components to phil wood, except the front wheel which got bashed in and is now stock. I suffer from that middle school paranoia of showing up on the track with this street looking setup, and all the track geared-up racers pointing and laughing. Is this a viable paranoia