Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Riding in sand

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-18, 01:30 PM
valleysuper

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Riding in sand

Im very new to riding off the road. I was very excited to try out gravel riding, and built up an old steel mtb with some drop bars and headed out. Ive got 26" wheels with 1.75" tires that are not knobby, but have some tread. Ive come to notice that the "gravel" around my area is mostly loose stones/rocks/boulder paths, with long sections of beach sand scattered in.
I for the life of me struggle to get through the sand sections, its a few inches deep and when I get in it I have little to no control over the bike. front tire is skiddish and all over and the back wheel sometimes slides right out.

Do I just need to practice riding in it more? i cant imagine going into it faster..., does it just suck no matter what? I dont really want to run fatter tires.

I have a race on my radar in early May, but if its anything like my area there is no way I could power through 54 miles of it.

yesterday was particularly pleasant, after wiping out in some large deep puddle/swamp that the 4 wheelers had torn the bottom up into a mud pit, i fell a second time 1/3 mile up the path in the sand, absolutely covered me, the bike, everything in sand. had to use my water in my bottle to get the drivetrain to stop crying for mercy.
Old 04-15-18, 07:21 PM
Spoonrobot 

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Quoted: 1217 Post(s)
Liked 187 Times in 118 Posts
You'll get better the more you do it. It takes familiarity to get used to just letting the front wheel wander while using your body and pedaling to control the line.