Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Back pain counsel sought

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Back pain counsel sought

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-18, 09:47 AM
philbob57

Bikes: frankenbike based on MKM frame

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 715 Post(s)
Liked 613 Times in 377 Posts
Back pain counsel sought

I've been riding since 2013, after a 12 year hiatus. I'm 73. Never fast, I just like riding, rode just over 1000 miles last year. I'm way overweight. I've done 11 rides this year, starting at 7 miles, 16 yesterday. That's a little more than I did last year.

I feel fine during the rides, but several hours after I get home, the lower 1/3-1/2 of my back hurts, from lower rib to lower rib across my back. I have a known L4-L5 disc problem, but this feels different. This is brand new this year for me.

Does this sound familiar to anyone? What did you do?

There's no need to tell me to see an orthopd ... if I don;t get something pretty specific from this query, I'll be making an appointment tomorrow or Tuesday.
Old 05-20-18, 10:44 AM
berner

Bikes: Specialized Secteur, old Peugeot

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked 496 Times in 299 Posts