Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Industrial Designer in search of folding bicycle design issues??

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-06, 03:18 PM
HonCheung
Industrial Designer

Bikes: Racer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello friends, i am a Industrial Designer and my current project is to design a FOLDING BICYCLE FOR URBAN CITY riding.
DOES ANYONE have any suggetions on current folding bicycle issues, and what could make a better folding bicycle**********

Hon(",)
Old 07-03-06, 04:07 PM
spambait11
Señor Mambo

Bikes: TST roadie, Cannondale CAAD 3, Surly Karate Stokemonkey Leap, Tern Cargo Node, Helix Alfine; 36er and 29er Triton Unicycles; a couple Bike Fridays; one Brompton; RadPower Radburro

Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 12 Posts
For urban city:
- it better be portable and easy to carry, hopefully not bulky (or as one design had it, turn into its own backpack)
- must be light
- must take 10 seconds or less to fold
- wheels shouldn't be smaller than ETRTO 349 (my bias)
- must have good luggage system or carrying options
- no part of the frame or chainring should hit the ground when folded
- must have good cable routing, or eliminate cables altogether
- must be ridable in all kinds of attire: suits, skirts, etc.
- should fit a wide range of rider heights
- should accomodate a wide range of rider weights
- should use standard-sized parts (or not use many unique parts)
- might need fenders, lights, bell, etc.
- must look good

Happy designing!
Old 07-03-06, 05:40 PM
invisiblehand
Part-time epistemologist

Bikes: Jamis Nova, Bike Friday triplet, Bike Friday NWT, STRIDA, Austro Daimler Vent Noir, Hollands Tourer

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts