Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

How to build a really awesome hybrid

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 11-26-19, 06:24 PM
the beef
100% USDA certified

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts

I'm a recovering roadie. Growing up in the suburbs, had multiple road bikes, single speeds, cyclocross bikes, etc., most of which I grew bored of quickly. I was constantly upgrading and optimizing; I changed bikes like I changed clothes.

Times have changed. I'm now a part-time grad student and delivery worker living in very tiny apartment in lower Manhattan. I don't have a lot of time to browse cycling sites. I only have physical space for one bike, and no time or money for tinkering and upgrading. But I admit it; I still love gear and a carefully tailored build. So I wanted to put together a bicycle that would be everything at once: fast, practical in every condition, and a trusty, long-term companion.

Enter the badass ****** hybrid.

This is my Cinelli Zydeco. I tried to draw upon insights from each of the worlds of cycling. I wanted a bicycle with the raw speed of a road bike, the responsiveness of a mountain bike, the simplicity of a single speed, the practicality of a commuter bike, the vibe of a BMX bike. I wanted to break all the "rules" of what a proper setup should be without creating a Frankenbike. I wanted to emerge with something coherent and beautiful.