Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Shimano BR-AT50 replacement

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-20, 06:27 AM
egpotter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I just bought a Panasonic Touring deluxe, which with cantilever BR-AT50. I am very new to bike mechanics and do not know which newer cantilever I could buy to replace them.

Best regards,
Eduardo
Old 06-27-20, 07:06 AM
JohnDThompson 
Old fart

Bikes: Several, mostly not name brands.

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Quoted: 3587 Post(s)
Liked 3,400 Times in 1,934 Posts
Those look to be pretty standard. I suspect almost anything could replace them. But why do they need replacement?

N.B. some Shimano cantilever and V-brakes use a plastic shroud to retain the spring. Those are to be avoided, as the plastic tends to crack and fail to hold the spring securely.
Old 06-27-20, 07:57 AM
The Golden Boy 
Extraordinary Magnitude

Bikes: 1978 Trek TX700; 1978/79 Trek 736; 1984 Specialized Stumpjumper Sport; 1984 Schwinn Voyageur SP; 1985 Trek 620; 1985 Trek 720; 1986 Trek 400 Elance; 1987 Schwinn High Sierra; 1990 Miyata 1000LT

Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Quoted: 2608 Post(s)
Liked 1,699 Times in 935 Posts
Originally Posted by egpotter
Hello,

I just bought a Panasonic Touring deluxe, which with cantilever BR-AT50. I am very new to bike mechanics and do not know which newer cantilever I could buy to replace them.

Best regards,
Eduardo
You have to kind of be careful- a lot of older bikes have the brake posts set closer together than more modern bikes. Newer brakes are designed to those newer standards on newer bikes- so a brake like the Tektro CR720 will most likely not work on a pre-1990-ish bike- especially on the front.