Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Odometer for Catrike Villager

Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Odometer for Catrike Villager

Old 09-29-20, 08:36 AM
  #1  
Scubaquarius
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Odometer for Catrike Villager

My wife has a new Catrike Villager that she has been riding for a couple months. Naturally, she would like to keep track of the mileage she
rides (near daily).

Anyone know of a decent odometer (computer) for a Catrike Villager, nothing fancy just to serve that basic function? Appreciate
any and all suggestions.

Have a great day,
Scubaquarius
Scubaquarius is offline  
Old 09-29-20, 09:08 AM
  #2  
Retro Grouch 
Senior Member
 
Retro Grouch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Peters, Missouri
Posts: 30,019

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1497 Post(s)
Liked 448 Times in 265 Posts
I think that the trend is to using a phone app.

Mrs, Grouch and I use the most entry level Garmins that I could find. I like them because there is no wheel size factor to measure and we can switch them from bike-to-bike if we like.
__________________
My greatest fear is all of my kids standing around my coffin and talking about "how sensible" dad was.
Retro Grouch is offline  
Likes For Retro Grouch:
Old 09-29-20, 01:15 PM
  #3  
Scubaquarius
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Retro Grouch View Post
I think that the trend is to using a phone app.

Mrs, Grouch and I use the most entry level Garmins that I could find. I like them because there is no wheel size factor to measure and we can switch them from bike-to-bike if we like.
Thanks for the information!

Scubaquarius
Scubaquarius is offline  
Old 09-30-20, 06:29 AM
  #4  
gobent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central VA
Posts: 13

Bikes: Catrike Road

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I use this on my iphone

Map My Ride. Itís accurate, can be used while walking, pauses, and shows the route. I have NOT found a way for it to do cumulative miles. However, it does allow you to take a pic of the info.

Gobent
gobent is offline  
Old 09-30-20, 08:04 AM
  #5  
DangerousDanR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Fargo ND
Posts: 150

Bikes: Lynskey R350, Ritchey Breakaway, Ritchey Double Switchback, Lynskey Ridgeline, ICAN Fatbike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 25 Posts
I use the Wahoo sensors (Cadence and Speed) and their phone app. The Wahoo app will record each and every ride locally on your phone. If she wants, she can add a heart rate sensor to get a better idea of workout intensity.

Be sure and get a phone mount that is the correct size for the phone / case. One of my phone mounts has dropped my phone, which is double plus ungood. Also, I have had the Wahoo cadence sensors come out of the Wahoo supplied mounts several times. They are now wrapped on the crank arm with a big gob of electrical tape.
DangerousDanR is offline  
Old 09-30-20, 08:18 AM
  #6  
Notso_fastLane
Senior Member
 
Notso_fastLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 1,548

Bikes: 2011 Bent TW Elegance 2014 Carbon Strada Velomobile

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked 650 Times in 393 Posts
Originally Posted by gobent View Post
Map My Ride. Itís accurate, can be used while walking, pauses, and shows the route. I have NOT found a way for it to do cumulative miles. However, it does allow you to take a pic of the info.

Gobent
If you go to the MapMyRide website, you can see weekly, monthly, and yearly totals, so it can and does track your cumulative miles. There's probably a way to access that info on the app, but I don't bother trying.
Notso_fastLane is offline  
Old 09-30-20, 12:07 PM
  #7  
BlazingPedals
Senior Member
 
BlazingPedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Middle of da Mitten
Posts: 11,701

Bikes: Trek 7500, RANS V-Rex, Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, M-5 Carbon Highracer, Catrike Speed

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1223 Post(s)
Liked 321 Times in 212 Posts
It is hard to beat a basic Cateye, et al, bike computer if all you need is speed/distance. You can get them for under $20 and sometimes under $10. The only problem with them is that you sometimes have to be inventive to get them on bents in general. Wires can be too short and brackets that might be built to go on an upright fork might not work a trike kingpin. My solution usually involved soldering extra wire and mounting the sensor to the rear wheel. One thing to be aware of is that Cateye wires are hair-thin and can be very hard to solder and seal.

My current solution is more expensive. I have a Garmin. The advantages are that it can easily mount on whatever bike I choose to ride, so only one is required, and I get a LOT more info. The disadvantage is that batteries now have to be recharged between rides instead of being changed every other year.
BlazingPedals is offline  
Old 09-30-20, 09:12 PM
  #8  
GeezyRider 
Another Bozo on the Bus
 
GeezyRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Delaware Sea Shore
Posts: 226

Bikes: Panasonic DX-3000, Trek Multitrack 720, Mercier Galaxy SC1, Raleigh Pursuit, Retrospec Judd, Rans Stratus LE, Catrike Trail, EZ-1 SC, BikeE E2

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked 101 Times in 66 Posts
I've been using Planet Bike cyclometers for almost 20 years now. They have an easy to read screen and they are easy to program. Also, they sell extra wiring harnesses for $14 that come in long and tandem lengths which are handy for recumbents. I did try one of their wireless versions but didn't care for it much as it didn't seem to be as accurate as the wired versions. Also, the sensor must be within 21 inches of the computer pretty much limiting them to DFs.
__________________
Don
GeezyRider is offline  
Old 10-21-20, 08:58 AM
  #9  
rydabent
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincoln Ne
Posts: 8,761

Bikes: RANS Stratus TerraTrike Tour II

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2184 Post(s)
Liked 545 Times in 326 Posts
A basic odometer mounted on the handle bars on a trike work fine.
rydabent is offline  
Old 10-21-20, 01:19 PM
  #10  
VegasTriker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sin City, Nevada
Posts: 2,382

Bikes: Catrike 700, Greenspeed GTO trike, , Linear LWB recumbent, Haluzak Horizon SWB recumbent, Balance 450 MTB, Cannondale SM800 Beast of the East

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 80 Times in 62 Posts
According to the information at Utah Trikes, the Villager comes with a "left mirror/computer mount". You are expected to mount the computer on the left mirror stalk. That puts it in easy distance for using a standard length wired computer. Even the most basic models will keep track of your cumulative mileage, a daily mileage, maximum speed and average speed for the daily mileage. All it takes is pushing one button at the beginning of each day to reset the daily mileage and elapsed time. I've given away a few of these inexpensive Sunding computers in the past and never got a comment they didn't work or weren't good. https://www.ebay.com/itm/154141550217 $8.45 from a California seller on eBay. The same computer imported from China with about a 3 week delivery time is $4.64 https://www.ebay.com/itm/132311786303 I usually buy from the overseas source when I buy them as gifts.

One strange thing I encountered was trying to use a wireless computer on my CT700. It wouldn't work with the computer mounted high on the trike next to the front derailleur and the sensor on the sensor mount supplied by Catrike with the trike. Apparently the frame was right in the way for blocking the signal as the computer works perfectly well on a mountain bike.
VegasTriker is offline  
Old 10-24-20, 08:00 AM
  #11  
ft3safety
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Northern California, USA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
A little fancy but I'm a fan of Garmin Edge GPS computers. It's more future proof than a standard speed / cadence wired computer. You can connect heart rate, power meters, and other devices via ANT+ and bluetooth. If it happens to drop and break, you won't be without your phone.
ft3safety is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.