Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Wahoo Speed Sensor mounting alternative - O-Ring?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Wahoo Speed Sensor mounting alternative - O-Ring?

Old 01-24-21, 06:06 PM
  #1  
OkFine
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 24

Bikes: 2009 Cannondale F5, 2012 Bianchi Sempre Veloce eTap

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Wahoo Speed Sensor mounting alternative - O-Ring?

When mounting the Wahoo speed sensor on my bike, I found that the asymmetrical hub on the rear wasn't really suited for a sensor to bridge the gap so I planned on putting it on the front, but the front hub is a smaller diameter than what Wahoo's OEM rubber mounting called for so it slipped around the hub. I trimmed the rubber latching portion off and used a standard O-ring around the hub. Mounted well and looked as good as factory, but in the week the bike sat there unridden the o-ring snapped.

Has anyone else had to adapt the sensor to a smaller diameter hub? I'm not displeased with the O-ring idea; I would just like one that was more pliable/less prone to breaking. Any thoughts?
OkFine is offline  
Old 01-24-21, 06:32 PM
  #2  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 32,945

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 342 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15424 Post(s)
Liked 4,286 Times in 2,259 Posts
How slender is your hub? I have a Wahoo sensor on my front wheel and I've had no issues with the supplied fastener.
WhyFi is offline  
Old 01-24-21, 06:38 PM
  #3  
OkFine
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 24

Bikes: 2009 Cannondale F5, 2012 Bianchi Sempre Veloce eTap

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by WhyFi View Post
How slender is your hub? I have a Wahoo sensor on my front wheel and I've had no issues with the supplied fastener.
I haven't measured with calipers, but the supplied mount from Wahoo was very loose. This small of a diameter is the only "downside" to Boyd's Skyuka hubs I've found.

It's entirely possible that the o-ring I purchased was older and brittle, because I can't imagine them being a frequenly restocked item at this hardware store.
OkFine is offline  
Old 01-24-21, 07:34 PM
  #4  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 32,945

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 342 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15424 Post(s)
Liked 4,286 Times in 2,259 Posts
Originally Posted by OkFine View Post
I haven't measured with calipers, but the supplied mount from Wahoo was very loose. This small of a diameter is the only "downside" to Boyd's Skyuka hubs I've found.

It's entirely possible that the o-ring I purchased was older and brittle, because I can't imagine them being a frequenly restocked item at this hardware store.
My hub looks to be in the region of an inch in diameter, but it was still a healthy stretch to get the band on there (I remember because it's a pain in the ass doing that through the spokes). I don't recall - did the Wahoo come with two sizes of bands?
WhyFi is offline  
Old 01-24-21, 07:53 PM
  #5  
OkFine
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 24

Bikes: 2009 Cannondale F5, 2012 Bianchi Sempre Veloce eTap

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Oh this one isn't approaching an inch in diameter.

Sadly it only came in one size. It could have been very simple for Wahoo to have done ladder rungs in the attachment to fit a wider range of hubs, but I guess this isn't that common of an issue.
OkFine is offline  
Old 01-24-21, 08:40 PM
  #6  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 6,592

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3408 Post(s)
Liked 663 Times in 452 Posts
Perhaps silicon O-rings work better than standard rubber.
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 01-26-21, 09:36 AM
  #7  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2,127

Bikes: Ti, Mn Cr Ni Mo Nb, Al, C

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked 496 Times in 333 Posts
Post a pic of your hub and how you are mounting the sensor. I too run the wireless speed sensor on the front tire and I had to stretch it to fit. That would have to be one skinny hub.
jadocs is offline  
Likes For jadocs:
Old 01-26-21, 02:42 PM
  #8  
drewguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 432

Bikes: Trek Domane 4.3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 20 Posts
Why not get a strip of rubber to wrap around the hub (or anything to increase the diameter) and then install the sensor over that?
drewguy is offline  
Old 01-29-21, 12:31 PM
  #9  
Chubby715
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 55

Bikes: Cervelo R5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 15 Posts
Have you contacted Wahoo support for a solution? It never hurts to ask. They were very helpful when the screen died on my Elemnt Bolt. BTW, my sensor is also mounted on the front wheel but I'm riding Zipp.
Chubby715 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.