Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Dialing In Cantilever Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-10, 07:28 AM
Scotland Yard

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dialing In Cantilever Brakes

I just bought a cross bike for commuting and riding on the road, so this is my first time dealing with cantis.

Perhaps I just don't know what I'm doing, but I'm finding them to be a nightmare to keep in check. Firstly I removed my in-line brake levers because I never used them. W/out the barrel adjusters it was a nightmare to get the brakelevers feeling tight and having the pads and cables set-up right, so I ended up paying a shop to set them up for me.

But after a few hundred miles and a few rides in the rain the pads are worn but not worn out and I had to compensate by adjusting the brakes once again because I had too much mechanical advantage. I feel like I'm constantly having some issue or another with the brakes on this bike. I put in a lot of miles, but I wouldn't think normal pad wear would cause issues.

So I'm looking for some advice for someone like me whose brakes get a lot of use. Is it really necessary to adjust cantis this much or will something like installing barrel adjusters or link cables (I have a yoke on there now) make things less painful, the right pads, or just a better set-up make cantis less painful?
Old 03-31-10, 07:37 AM
flargle

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, at least now you know why those inline levers have barrel adjusters.