Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

how do you incorporate an HRM into your training?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-13, 07:28 AM
mshred
It do, but it don't.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

i'm still a newbie to road biking, but i'm enjoying it very much and alreay want to find ways to get faster. naturally, at this point i'm still building a base and focusing on time in the saddle. i'm doing some intervals, but nothing crazy as i dont want to push too much too soon.

i've read quite a bit on training approaches and many refer to training with power and using an HRM. i dont have the budget for a power meter right now, but i could certainly pick up a decent HRM, however.

anyone care to share how they use their HRM for cycling?
Old 07-08-13, 08:00 AM
squatchy
squatchy

Bikes: S-works Roubaix, S-works Tarmac, Gary Fisher Promethius, Tommasini Competion, Eddy Merckx Corsa 01

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Charmichael has a book devoted to HRM training with different types of training programs. Friel also has a book for the same thing. You can pick your 12 week training calander and it tells you what to do each day
Old 07-08-13, 09:44 AM
cyclezen
OM boy

Bikes: a bunch

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked 641 Times in 437 Posts