Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Choosing Platform Pedals for a Hybrid: Are pedals above entry level worth it?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 03-20-20, 03:32 PM
DTownDave22

Bikes: hybrid

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post

I’ve basically two main questions regarding platform pedals. I ride a basic hybrid and am not considering any type of clipless pedals at this time. I’ve little knowledge to work off of regarding pedals and while one tends to get what one pays for in contrast to other markets like “luxury” items, where it’s in part the status, I’m a bit frugal and looking to see if there is that much better value in buying pedals above that basic $10-$20 entry level pedals.

(1) What in more specific terms, am I paying for when I buy metal platform pedals that are in that $30-$60 range (or even higher)?

(2) For a few reasons (looking at supporting an LBS, specifically the one I receive maintenance on my bike at), I’m considering a mountain bike pedal with platform screws at it seems to be sturdy (one of the stated brands, Race Face). My only real concern is if those screws that are on the platform would have a considerably higher rate of degradation on the soles of shoes. For reference, I use Five Ten Freeriders. I can just try 'em & see but would rather make a little more informed decision if anyone has input.

For extra details, see post below if you so desire.

Last edited by DTownDave22; 03-20-20 at 05:11 PM.
Old 03-20-20, 03:37 PM
hillyman
WALSTIB

Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 384 Times in 183 Posts
Bearings bearings bearings. Stronger, better grip and lighter a plus too.

Likes For hillyman:
Old 03-20-20, 03:41 PM
DTownDave22

Liked 2 Times in 1 Post