Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Wheel Dish vs Spoke Tension

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-21, 01:17 PM
mrmb

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts

Building a wheel. Not my first, but I am no pro wheel builder either. Using the Park TS-2.2 stand and the park tension meter.

Rim = Velocity Deep V
Hub = Shimano Deore XT M756A

Odd combo, I know, but that's beside the point

Onto the question.......Velocity says that tension should be 110kgf-130kgf. As it is, the drive side is at 110kgf all the way around and the non-drive side is at 150kgf all the way around. The wheel is near-perfectly true. Less than 1mm hop, but it wont come out so I will call that good. The problem is dish....it is about 1.5mm out on the dish. The rim needs to go TOWARDS the side that is already at 150kgm. So, I can tighten that side and get about 200+kgf on that side (way too much I think) and get dish just right OR i can loosen the side that is already at 110kgf and end up with way too low of tension on that side, but have good dish. Or leave it as is.

What do you think?
Old 01-20-21, 01:41 PM
dabac

Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked 295 Times in 222 Posts
My 1st thought is that you’ve mixed up DS and NDS. It’d be a mighty weird wheel to have higher NDS tension than DS tension.
My 2nd thought is that unless you have a habit of breaking spokes, bring the DS tension down to the recommended value, then let the NDS tension be whatever it needs to be to set the correct dish.
Old 01-20-21, 01:44 PM
Unca_Sam
The dropped