Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Simplex Retrofriction shifters play

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old 01-31-20, 12:44 PM
alexnagui

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked 113 Times in 64 Posts

I have zero experience with using retrofriciton shifters but I've heard that they are (one of) the best downtube friction shifters ever made.
So I've got a set of them in braze-on version. I cleaned and re-lubed them and mounted on a Simplex clamp I had. It needed retapping, of course.

Well, what I've noticed once the shifters were mounted on the clamp is considerable lateral play of the levers. It seems that the bushing inside of each shifter is not seated fully on the housing with the stop (is that how it's called?) so there is a gap between the housing and the lever. The clamp has nothing to do with the play, it fits perfectly.

Is that just supposed to be like that? Is that due to wear? The shifters are used but visually don't have much wear. No missing parts either...
I did not remove the bushing with the spring prior to cleaning. I am wondering if the bushings were not installed properly to begin with which does not allow the lever to be seated porperly which creates this annoying play.

Old 01-31-20, 01:54 PM
dddd
Ride, Wrench, Swap, Race

Bikes: Cheltenham-Pedersen racer, Boulder F/S Paris-Roubaix, Varsity racer, '52 Christophe, '62 Continental, '92 Merckx, '75 Limongi, '76 Presto, '72 Gitane SC, '71 Schwinn SS, etc.

Mentioned: 132 Post(s)
Quoted: 1554 Post(s)
Liked 1,274 Times in 846 Posts
I am recalling that there is some difference between the clamp-on and braze-on versions of the retrofriction levers.