Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

Hello from Wisconsin, USA!

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-20, 10:16 PM
brandonjclark

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post

I'm new to this forum (first post) and I'd like to introduce myself. First of all, I'm a noob cyclist as I've only been cycling seriously for around 4 years. Second, I'm sad that I missed out on ALL of these years of cycling at age 41 (nearly 42). I mean, I rode my bmx and MTB's as a kid just about everywhere. But the first day I grabbed the car keys at age 16 I left bicycling behind. HOW STUPID OF ME!

So, I said I'm a serious cyclist but that's all relative. On Strava I see some people putting down 10k miles or more a year. I'm not THAT serious, but I do love riding as much as possible. I have a large family to support with five kids and time really is the barrier. That said, I put down around 2.5k miles since last June and did my first century ride in September. Since the weather here in Wisconsin is pretty cold, I usually get my winter miles in on the trainer (turbo). It's a wheel on trainer and while it's not as nice as the direct drive Wahoo Kickr the Kinetic Road Machine 2.0 has been my baby for the last four months and helped me ride when the weather was just too cold or snowy.

My story of how I got back into bicycling isn't probably very different than some but to me it was divine. I was walking my dog one day, being FAT and saw my neighbor throwing out an old Trek flatbar 10-speed. I paused when I saw it. Wait a minute, yes! It was the exact bike I had as a kid! I asked him if I could take it home with me and he said he was throwing it out anyways so I could have it. He explained it belonged to his son who was around my age now and that he'd maintained it all of those years.