Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

Road vs. mountain disc brake calipers

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-18, 04:38 PM
bck

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everybody,

I'm working on a new bike that will be a 650b, allroad/gravel and thinking about flat touring style handlebars. This is my first time working with disc brakes so forgive me if this sounds like a silly question, but what are the differences between an Ultegra disc caliper versus XT/XTR caliper?

From what I can gather, it seems like the road style will accept 140mm or 160mm rotors. Is there anything else I'm missing?

Cheers,

Brian
Old 08-14-18, 04:59 PM
redlude97

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Quoted: 1975 Post(s)
Liked 232 Times in 173 Posts
Are you talking about hydraulic? I don't remember which series share the same sized pistons but better to just match the levers with the calipers. The caliper rotor size will depend on the mounting bracket used and the frame mounts
Old 08-15-18, 04:09 PM
bck

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, hydraulic in both cases. It sounds like the number of piston and size might be the core difference?

I was reading about mounting options as well, so thank you for the note on that influencing rotor size.
Old 08-15-18, 04:56 PM
DrIsotope
Non omnino gravis

Bikes: Nekobasu, Pandicorn, Lakitu

Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Quoted: 4905 Post(s)
Liked 1,731 Times in 958 Posts