Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

fixed/fixed -> fixed/single?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 02-11-10, 09:10 PM
mxs

Bikes: Bianchi Pista

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Let me start off by saying that I am relatively new to the whole cycling world. I am currently in the process of putting together a new wheel set for my Bianchi Pista (Japanese spec) and have a question regarding hubs. I have been looking at some second-hand Dura-Ace track hubs that were used for racing. They are noted as being fixed/fixed hubs. Am I correct in assuming that if the the rear hub is threaded on both sides that I could replace one side with a freewheel to convert it to a flip-flop hub? Thanks for your help.
Old 02-11-10, 09:12 PM
jgedwa
surly old man

Bikes: IRO Mark V, Karate Monkey half fat, Trek 620 IGH, Cannondale 26/24 MTB, Amp Research B3, and more.

Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 18 Posts
Yup. Not a problem at all. jim
Old 02-11-10, 09:18 PM
Retro Grouch 

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1572 Post(s)
Liked 642 Times in 363 Posts
I'm too lazy to go downstairs to check for sure, but doesn't a fixed hub have 2 stage threading? Clockwise for the cog and counter clockwise for the lockring?

I'm thinking a fixed/fixed hub would have 2 stage threading on both sides and a fixed/freewheel has only clockwise threading on one side.
Old 02-11-10, 09:20 PM
operator
cab horn

Bikes: 1987 Bianchi Campione

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 18 Posts
Originally Posted by mxs